Nutella is a staple in many people’s kitchens. It’s not just for toast anymore!
It’s not just the hazelnut spread for your toast, but did you know that Nutella chocolate spread is also great with pancakes and other innovative recipes?
So you ask, is this hazel-nut-chocolate spread vegan? Is there a vegan alternative out there?
This article will answer your questions on where exactly Nutella lies, vegan-friendly alternatives, as well as how to make a chocolate spread, all by yourself. Just hang in tight!
Is Nutella Vegan?
To better understand whether Nutella is vegan or not, we need to consider the definition of ‘vegan’ more closely.
According to PETA, veganism is “a way of living that seeks to exclude—as far as possible and practicable—all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose by excluding animal products like meat, leather, eggs, dairy, etc.”
So if we look at the ingredients list on a jar of Nutella chocolate spread: sugar (powdered and granulated), vegetable oil (palm and rapeseed), ground hazelnuts, cocoa powder, skimmed milk powder, vanillin, cocoa, and lecithin, it is clear that Nutella is not vegan.
The sugar used in Nutella contains bone char which isn’t vegan at all, so this means that the gran
Although the lecithin used in Nutella is made from soy (eggs are the other alternative) and thus vegan, the skimmed milk powder is made from cow’s milk. This makes Nutella non-vegan.
>> You may also like: Where Is Cornstarch In The Grocery Store?<<
Now that Nutella is not entirely vegan, what options exist for vegans? There are a couple of alternatives here. They include:
-Plain nut butter
As you may already know, there are many kinds of nut butter in the market today. They range from almond to hazelnut butter, and they are way healthier and nutritious than the typical Nutella chocolate spread.
For example, peanut and almond butter are vegan-friendly and can be used as a substitute for Nutella. 2 tablespoons of each provide you with as much as 7 grams of protein.
Similarly, hazelnut butter is vegan-friendly but provides a lesser percentage of protein per serving, typically 5g for every 2 tablespoons.
They are not sweetened like the chocolate spread, but they contain healthy fats, making them a much more suitable option, even for non-vegans.
-Specific Nutella vegan alternatives
If you’re looking for a good alternative at the store or online, here are a few you should check from:
1. Peanut Butter & co. Dark Chocolate Dreams
This is a vegan-friendly certified dark chocolate spread from the brand Peanut Butter & Co.
It contains a blend of peanuts and chocolate. The lecithin emulsifier responsible for the smooth consistency is extracted from sunflowers.
>> You may also like: Creme Fraiche: Where to Find It in The Grocery Store?<<
2. Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut and Almond Butter
This is a chocolate hazelnut, and almond butter spread that’s produced in Canada by Justin’s.
It’s certified vegan and has an almost exact taste like Nutella, thanks to the cocoa butter, cocoa powder, and sea salt used in manufacture.
3. Artisana Organics Hazelnut Cacao Spread
This vegan-friendly Nutella alternative contains hazelnuts, as well as coconut oil and cacao powder, among other vegan ingredients.
Notably, cacao powder is packed full of antioxidants whose benefits are too good to not count.
How to make vegan chocolate spread?
If you’re not into buying vegan Nutella or other chocolate spreads, don’t worry!
There are many homemade recipes that can help you make your own spread. These recipes generally revolve around making the butter and spicing it up as needed.
You can begin by roasting about a cup of hazelnuts, blending them into a smooth paste, and mixing them with maple syrup or sugar, melted chocolate, cocoa powder, and vanilla extracts.
A touch of coconut oil and hazelnut milk will get you closer to Nutella’s consistency while being absolutely sure that everything is vegan!
>> You may also like: How Many Apples in a Pound? What About a Cup or Peck?<<
Is there a vegan hazelnut spread?
The answer to this question is both yes and no. As mentioned above, Nutella isn’t vegan-friendly since it contains skimmed milk powder.
However, there are a couple of brands that produce vegan hazelnut spreads. These include:
• Nocciolata Dairy-Free Hazelnut and Cocoa Spread
• Rawmio Hazelnut Chocolate Butter
• Simply Chocolat Hazelnut Chocolate Spread
Can you eat Nutella on a plant-based diet?
As mentioned above, Nutella is non-vegan and thus not recommended on a plant-based diet. However, if you’re just beginning your journey in transitioning to veganism, you can buy a jar and eat it sparingly in case of any cravings.
A good alternative is to use the ingredients listed above to make your own hazelnut chocolate spread if you’re looking for a homemade vegan-friendly alternative that tastes like Nutella.
>> You may also like: Where is jackfruit in the grocery store?<<
Is peanut butter vegan?
Peanut butter is one of the best vegan-friendly alternatives to Nutella. However, it’s only considered an alternative if it is strictly made from groundnuts and salts.
These are the only ingredients in 90% of peanut butter in the market. You shouldn’t let your guard down as some have been sweetened with honey. Pay attention to the listed ingredients when buying.
Is Nutella B-ready Vegetarian?
While Nutella isn’t vegan, its B-ready variant is. The difference between the two versions of this spread is that while Nutella contains skimmed cow’s milk powder, B-ready doesn’t. It’s made with soy and whey milk.
However, Nutella B-ready is vegetarian because it doesn’t include any fish, meat, poultry, or seafood.